Market Pulse

Reinsberg bought the brand. The moratorium runs to October.

Reinsberg Group, owned by the Czech investment firm BHM Group, announced on 24 August 2026 that it had acquired Schaerer Medical Schweiz AG, taking the group to eight medical-technology companies and more than EUR 150 million of combined revenue.

Reinsberg's announcement of 24 August 2026 does not mention that the company carrying the historic Schaerer name — founded 1892, making operating tables since 1912 — has been under a definitive composition moratorium since 2 October 2024, now running to 2 October 2026. The business Reinsberg bought sits in a separate company at the same Münsingen address, incorporated on 28 August 2025.

Bystronic AG signed an agreement on 27 August 2026 to acquire Isochronic AG of Denges (VD), a sheet-metal robotics developer founded in 2020 that holds twelve patents, the most recent filed in 2026. Terms were not disclosed.

7Press-Reported Deals— flat
546Distress Events-3% WoW
2Startup FundingCHF 36.4M converted
15Succession Signals+36% WoW
938New Registrations+5% WoW
2251Board Changes+3% WoW

On 24 August the Reinsberg Group announced its eighth acquisition: Schaerer Medical Schweiz AG of Münsingen, premium mobile operating tables sold in more than 75 countries, a name dating to 1892 and a product line running since 1912. Reinsberg belongs to BHM Group, a Czech investment firm, and now sits on more than EUR 150 million of combined revenue across eight medical-technology brands. Reto Sieber stays as chief executive. Terms were not disclosed.

Two registry entries put that in context. The company Reinsberg bought was incorporated on 28 August 2025 at Erlenauweg 17 in Münsingen, CHF 100,000 of capital, half paid up — one year to the week before the sale. The company carrying the 1892 name, Schaerer Medical AG, sits at the same address and has been in a definitive composition moratorium since 2 October 2024, extended three times and now running to 2 October 2026. It cut about half of its roughly forty staff in February 2024. The viable product line moved into a new vehicle, the creditors stayed with the old one, and the brand sold twelve months later. That is the standard Swiss restructuring route, not a criticism of anyone in it.

The rest of the tape does one thing repeatedly: buyers taking ownership of counterparties they already dealt with. Sudarshan signed on 25 August for the Muttenz plant that has made its aluminium dyes for years, CHF 7 million plus inventory. Bystronic signed on 27 August to buy Isochronic of Denges, a 2020 startup it had worked with for years — twelve patents in sheet-metal robotics. Compassana and Well are merging platforms the same eleven insurer and hospital shareholders were funding twice over. None of that is a credit story; it is supply-chain control.

Distress held rather than climbed: 546 events against 564. Against the same week of 2025 the bankruptcy count is flat, 316 notices against 315, the first week since June that has not risen year on year. One estate stands out and no outlet covered it. Idiag AG of Zurich, founded 1993, maker of the IDIAG M360 spine scanner the physiotherapy world knew for twenty years as the SpinalMouse, was declared bankrupt on 20 August against CHF 4.9 million of share capital.

For the record: 5,575 publications, 938 new registrations against 891, 2,251 board changes against 2,181, and fifteen succession signals against eleven.

CHF 6.2 million moved into a nine-week-old company, for nothing

On 25 August the register recorded an asset transfer in Fischingen, Thurgau. Urs Schatt Tiefbau GmbH passed CHF 6.2 million of assets and CHF 3.3 million of third-party liabilities to Grueb AG under a contract dated 25 June. The consideration line reads, in full: none.

Grueb AG had been on the register for nine weeks. It was incorporated on 16 June at Gruebstrasse 5 in Oberwangen with CHF 100,000 of capital and a purpose covering property, construction, hospitality services, agricultural and forestry contract work and machinery trading. A civil-engineering business with roughly CHF 3 million of net assets moved into it at book value, and nothing was paid. Swiss law allows exactly this and nothing here is irregular on its face. But an operating business re-homed for no consideration into a company incorporated weeks earlier has one of two futures: it is being cleaned for a sale or a handover, or it is being separated from something the owner expects to lose. Either way the counterparty you would negotiate with changed on 25 August, and the register is the only place that is written down.

The Signals

Unlock the signals — free

Pre-deal signals scored before the press, federal procurement prints, the complete deal tape, the forward court calendar and buyable estates. Free, every Friday.

Free weekly newsletter. Unsubscribe anytime.

Based on 5,575 SOGC/SHAB publications processed this week. M&A data sourced from Swiss commercial registry filings (16 SOGC), press-reported transactions via web intelligence (7 EXA), and startup funding from Startupticker, Tech.eu, and company disclosures (2 rounds). Company distress scoring based on proprietary multi-signal model across 113,000 Swiss companies. Valuation benchmarks supplemented from Deloitte Swiss M&A reports and Dealsuite DACH data. Restatement. This edition and 2026-W34 were rebuilt after a fault in our extraction pipeline silently dropped registry deal and distress extraction between 21 August and 1 September 2026; the window from 17 August to 1 September was re-extracted on 1 September on a new model and a rewritten prompt. Registry M&A for 24-29 August was absent from our first pass and is present here, so this edition's figure of 16 filings is the correct one. Board-change counts for 17-20 August, reported in the W34 edition, are lower than the original run produced, and distress counts for that window are higher; both changes are explained in that edition's note. Separately, and as stated in every edition since 10 August 2026, our bankruptcy count excludes notices that revoke a bankruptcy, so these figures are not comparable with editions published before that date.

ValIndex reads every SOGC filing the day it publishes, scores 113,000 Swiss companies for distress and succession, and shows the workings. Weekly. Request access →